Who we are

The SBFI (SEFRI) -State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation- within the Federal Department of Economic Affairs is the federal government’s specialized agency for national and international matters concerning general and university education, research and space. The SER is responsible for the Swiss contribution to the Euratom fusion research program including also JET, ITER as well as Broader Approach activities.

The CRPP (Centre de recherches en physique des plasmas) is the Swiss center of competence for research in plasma physics. It takes part in the European Fusion Research Program. CRPP is a research institute of EPFL (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne). A staff of 110 researchers and technicians work at the EPFL site and of about 25 staff at PSI (Paul Scherrer Institute). The manifold activities of CRPP are mainly focused on fusion as an attractive energy source for centuries to come.

The F4E (European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy – in short ‘Fusion for Energy’) is a European organization created under the Euratom Treaty by a decision of the Council of the European Union. Among its various duties, F4E acts as Domestic Agency for the ITER Organization. F4E is thus the procurement agency for the European (incl. Swiss) share of ITER.

The Swiss ILO (Industrial Liaison Officer) is the delegate to F4E and acts as a contact point between Swiss Industry and F4E. The present delegate is on the staff of CRPP.

(click to enlarge)